Red River County has a unique place in the history of Texas, its annals reaching far enough back to be called ancient. Our good historian Yoakum tells us that the first settlement above Natchitoches was made in 1750 at the mouth of Boggy River, on the east bank of Red River, by a trading company under the direction of M. Francois Hervey who had a permit for that purpose from the Governor of Louisiana. This point near the lower boundary of Lamar County is about 540 miles above Natchitoches by the course of the river. Some two years later -- since the company was not prospering -- Hervey moved forty miles lower down to the ancient Caddo Indian village on the Texas side of the river. Joined by Sergeant Beason and some ten or a dozen soldiers, they built a fort, naming it St. Louis de Carloretta, erected a flagstaff, hoisted the French flag and mounted two small pieces of artillery. "Several French families settled there and cultivated corn, tobacco and garden vegetables."
This was in Red River County. A creek in that county perpetuates the name of this worthy commandant. This settlement and trading post