Membership Committee Members

Nancy Baker Jones (Chair)

Nancy Baker Jones is president of the Ruthe Winegarten Foundation for Texas Women’s History, Austin, which sponsors the Ellen Temple Research Fellowship and the Women in Texas History book series (Texas A&M University Press), for which Jones is a general editor. Its multi-year radio series won the 2012 Outstanding Public History Award from the National Council on Public History. Jones earned the Ph.D. in American Civilization from the University of Texas at Austin. She and Winegarten wrote Capitol Women: Texas Female Legislators 1923-1999, which won the 2000 Liz Carpenter Award, and with Fane Downs she edited Women & Texas History: Selected Essays. She was research director for The New Handbook of Texas and taught women's history at St. Edward's University. She serves on the Community Advisory Board for the University of Texas at Austin’s Center for the Study of Women and Gender. Her publications include "Ruthe Winegarten" in Writing the Story of Texas; “The Way We Were: Gender and the Woman’s Pavilion, HemisFair ’68,” Southwestern Historical Quarterly (2016); and “Making Texas Our Texas: The Emergence of Texas Women’s History, 1976-1990,” SHQ (2017). She is a Fellow of the TSHA and book review editor for the SHQ. She is currently contributing to the creation of an historical documentary about the woman suffrage movement in Texas for release in 2020.

… Read More

Heather Green Wooten

Heather Green Wooten is an adjunct assistant professor for the Institute for the Medical Humanities at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (UTMB) where she teaches courses in medical history and medical ethics. She specializes in the history of disease epidemics, women and medicine and American medical biography. Wooten’s first book, The Polio Years in Texas: Battling a Terrifying Unknown was a recipient of the Mary M. Hughes Research Fellowship, the T. R. Fehrenbach Book Award by the Texas Historical Commission, and ETHA’s Ottis Lock Endowment Award. Recent publications include Old Red: Pioneering Medical Education in Texas for the TSHA Fred Rider Cotten Popular History Series, and Skilled Hands: Surgery at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston, co-authored with William Henry Kellar. Her latest endeavor involves writing the 50-year history of the Graduate School of the Biomedical Sciences at UTMB. In 2018, Wooten was appointed Project Director for the Handbook of Texas Medicine, currently undergoing development. She is an active member of many regional and state historical organizations, and a past president of the East Texas Historical Association. Wooten earned a Ph.D. in the Medical Humanities from UTMB in 2006.

… Read More