San Jacinto Symposium Committee Members

Jesús F. "Frank" de la Teja has a lengthy, active relationship with TSHA and its programs. He served as TSHA President in 2007-2008 while simultaneously serving as the inaugural Texas State Historian (2007-2009). For seventeen years, De la Teja was the book review editor of the Southwestern Historical Quarterly and also contributed research articles to the journal. He has long advised on Handbook of Texas projects, most recently with the Handbook of Tejano History. He and his wife established TSHA’s Catarino and Evangelina Hernández Research Fellowship to support research in Latino history in Texas. Named a TSHA Fellow in 2001, De la Teja has published extensively on Spanish, Mexican, and Republic-era Texas. He was the Jerome H. and Catherine E. Supple Professor of Southwestern Studies, Regents’ Professor of History, and Director of the Center for the Study of the Southwest at Texas State University-San Marcos until his retirement in August 2017. De la Teja earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Seton Hall University and his doctorate in colonial Latin American history from The University of Texas at Austin.

… Read More