SHQ Members

Walter L. Buenger (Chair)

Walter Buenger, Ph.D., is TSHA’s Chief Historian, responsible for the Association’s scholarly mission and providing academic oversight to its programs. He is also the inaugural Summerlee Foundation Lone Star Chair in Texas History at The University of Texas at Austin. Beunger was elected a TSHA Fellow in 2000, and he served as TSHA President in 2009-2010. The author of numerous books and articles, Buenger was awarded the Coral H. Tullis Award in 2001 for his book, The Path to a Modern South: Texas between Reconstruction and the Great Depression. A native of West Texas, Buengerreceived his Ph.D. from Rice University in 1979. Soon afterward, he began teaching at Texas A&M University where he remained until 2017. While there, he gave courses in U.S. history, the history of the South, and Texas history, and served as chair of the history department. His own area of research focuses on comparative border studies, the South, and Texas since 1820. He is currently working on a project researching the relationship between history and memory in Texas after 1820.

… Read More

Deborah M. Liles

Deborah Liles is an assistant professor and the W. K. Gordon Endowed Chair in Texas History at Tarleton State University. She is the coeditor of Women in Civil War Texas: Diversity and Dissidence in the Trans-Mississippi, winner of the Liz Carpenter Award for Best Book on the History of Women, and coeditor of African Americans in Central Texas History: From Slavery to Civil Rights. She resides in Weatherford, Texas.

… Read More