Lynna Kay Shuffield Memorial Award Committee Members

Harriet Denise Joseph (Chair)

A native Texan, Harriet Denise Joseph is a Latin American historian focusing primarily on Mexico. She earned her B.A. from Southern Methodist Univeristy (1967) and both her M.A. and Ph.D. at the Univeristy of North Texas (1971, 1976), where she studied under the mentorship of Donald Chipman.  Her area of expertise includes Spanish Texas, Mexican-American history, and the history of Jewish community in twentieth-century Brownsville.  

… Read More

Nancy Baker Jones

Nancy Baker Jones is president of the Ruthe Winegarten Foundation for Texas Women’s History, Austin, which sponsors the Ellen Temple Research Fellowship and the Women in Texas History book series (Texas A&M University Press), for which Jones is a general editor. Its multi-year radio series won the 2012 Outstanding Public History Award from the National Council on Public History. Jones earned the Ph.D. in American Civilization from the University of Texas at Austin. She and Winegarten wrote Capitol Women: Texas Female Legislators 1923-1999, which won the 2000 Liz Carpenter Award, and with Fane Downs she edited Women & Texas History: Selected Essays. She was research director for The New Handbook of Texas and taught women's history at St. Edward's University. She serves on the Community Advisory Board for the University of Texas at Austin’s Center for the Study of Women and Gender. Her publications include "Ruthe Winegarten" in Writing the Story of Texas; “The Way We Were: Gender and the Woman’s Pavilion, HemisFair ’68,” Southwestern Historical Quarterly (2016); and “Making Texas Our Texas: The Emergence of Texas Women’s History, 1976-1990,” SHQ (2017). She is a Fellow of the TSHA and book review editor for the SHQ. She is currently contributing to the creation of an historical documentary about the woman suffrage movement in Texas for release in 2020.

… Read More