Randolph B. Campbell, Ph.D.



Randolph B. Campbell is Regents' Professor of History at the University of North Texas (UNT).  He earned his B.A. (1961), M.A. (1963), and Ph.D. (1966) from the University of Virginia.  In 2013 he became the inaugural Lone Star Chair in Texas History, having been named Lone Star Professor in 2011 after completion of the first phase of creation of the chair. Establishing the chair was a project of TSHA and UNT collaboration as part of their affiliation. The Lone Star Chair also was charged to serve as Chief Historian.  He was president of the Texas State Historical Association from 1993-94, and served as Chief Historian from 2008-17.

His previous books include Gone To Texas: A History of the Lone Star State (2003), An Empire for Slavery: The Peculiar Institution in Texas, 1821-1865, (1989), and numerous other books, chapters, and articles on Texas history. 


A Southern Community in Crisis: Harrison County, Texas, 1850-1880

"Few academic volumes remain timely and relevant more than thirty years after they were first published. This is one of those exceptional books."—from the foreword by Andrew J. TorgetHistorians have published countless studies of the American Civil War and the era of Reconstruction that followed those four years of brutally destructive conflict. Most of these works focus on events and developments at the national or state level, but much less attention has been given to studying how ordinary people experienced the years from 1861 to 1876. What did secession, civil war, emancipation, victory for the United States, and Reconstruction mean at the local level in Texas? Exactly how much change did the era bring to the focus of the study, Harrison County: a cotton-growing, planter-dominated community with the largest slave population of any county in the state? Providing an answer to that question is the basic purpose of A Southern Community in Crisis: Harrison County, Texas, 1850–1880. First published by the Texas State Historical Association in 1983, the book is now available in paperback, with a foreword by Andrew J. Torget, one of the Lone Star State’s top young historians.Randolph B. Campbell is Regents' Professor of History at the University of North Texas. One of the leading historians of Texas of his generation, he has served as Chief Historian of the Texas State Historical Association and is the author of numerous articles and books, including An Empire for Slavery: The Peculiar Institution in Texas, 1821–1865 and Gone to Texas: A History of the Lone Star State.Andrew J. Torget is associate professor of history at the University of North Texas and the author of Seeds of Empire: Cotton, Slavery, and the Transformation of the Texas Borderlands, 1800–1850.

View More »

An Empire for Slavery: The Peculiar Institution in Texas, 1821-1865

Because Texas emerged from the western frontier relatively late in the formation of the antebellum nation, it is frequently and incorrectly perceived as fundamentally western in its political and social orientation. In fact, most of the settlers of this area were emigrants from the South, and many of these people brought with them their slaves and all aspects of slavery as it had matured in their native states.
View More »

TSHA Positions

Handbook Entries

Title Contributor Type
Alger, Bruce Reynolds Author
Antebellum Texas Author
Atkins, Joseph Louis Author
Banks, Ernest [Ernie, Mr. Cub] Author
Barry, Bryan Thomas Author
Bell, Charles C. Author
Bowman, Bobby Neil, Sr. [Bob] Author
Brindley, Anne Ammons Author
Brock, Euline Williams Author
Census and Census Records Author
Conrad, Emmett James Author
Davis, Jefferson Author
Double Oak, TX Author
Dougherty, John Chrysostom Iii Author
Duncan, Elma Merle Mears McClellan Author
Eastvale, TX Author
Fifth Military District Revision Author
Gaines, Reuben Reid Author
Goddin, Mortimer H. Author
Gratz, Lawson Daniel Author
Harrison County Author
Henson, Margaret Louise Swett Author
Hornsby, Rachel Hamilton Author
Hudson Oaks, TX Author
Johnson, Thaddeus Edgar Author
Jones, William E. Author
Knights of the Golden Circle Author
Likens, James B. Author
Loe, James Thomas Warner Author
Markout, TX Author
Marsh, Stanley III [3] Author
Marshall, TX Author
McCormick, Andrew Phelps Author
McCurley, TX Author
McKnight, Joseph Webb Author
Moore, Frederick Douglas Author
Mundine, Titus Howard Author
Neches, Battle of the Author
Northlake, TX Author
Oak Grove, TX (Kaufman County) Author
Oak Point, TX Author
Oak Ridge City, TX Author
Ogden, Wesley B. Author
Paschal, Thomas Moore Author
Pearson, Jim Berry Author
Post Oak Bend, TX Author
Prendergast, Davis M'Gee Author
Rector, John B. Author
Robertson, Theodore Zanderson Author
Sabin, Chauncey Brewer Author
Scott, William Thomas Revision Author
Secrest, Washington Hampton Revision Author
Shannon, William Russell Revision Author
Shaw, James B. Revision Author
Shelby, David Author
Sherwood, Lorenzo Revision Author
Shipman, Moses Author
Sibley, Marilyn Alice McAdams Author
Siemering, August Revision Author
Sigler, William Nall Author
Simmons, William Capers Revision Author
Singleton, George Washington Author
Sinks, Julia Lee Author
Slavery Author
Slocum Massacre Author
Smith, Morgan L. Author
Snelling, James G. Soulard Revision Author
Snider, Gabriel Straw Author
Somervell, Alexander Revision Author
Sowell, Andrew Jackson Revision Author
Sparks, William Fielder Revision Author
Stafford, William Joseph Author
Stanley, John H. Stephen Revision Author
Staples, Sidney Lee Author
Stedman, William Author
Steele, William S. Revision Author
Strong, Henry Woodson Author
Tarver, Benjamin Edward Author
Thatcher, Thomas Author
Thompson, Jesse Author
Thruston, Algernon Sidney Author
Turner, Ezekiel B. Author
Upton, John Cunningham Author
Upton, William Felton Revision Author
Van Ness, George F. X. Author
Van Zandt, Isaac Revision Author
Wahrenberger, John Author
Walker, Moses B. Author
Wallace, Caleb Author
Warfield, Charles A. Author
Weatherford, Thomas Jefferson Revision Author
Webb, Joseph Author
Westall, Thomas Author
Western, Thomas Gehot Revision Author
Wharton, John Austin Author
Whetstone, Peter Revision Author
White, Samuel Addison Revision Author
Whiteside, William B. Author
Whitmore, George Washington Author
Wilbarger, Mathias Author
Wood, David L. Revision Author
Woolfolk, George Ruble Author
Wooten, Goodall Harrison Author
Wooten, Thomas Dudley Author
Wortham, Louis J. Author
Wyly, Alfred Henderson Revision Author
Yates, Andrew Janeway Revision Author
Yoakum, Franklin Laughlin Revision Author
Young, Charles G. Revision Author
Young, William Cocke Revision Author




The official store of TSHA. All proceeds support our Texas history programs and publications. Shop now