Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share

Liz Carpenter Award for Research in the History of Women

2014 Liz Carpenter Award For Research in the History of Women


The Liz Carpenter Award is given annually for the best scholarly book on the history of women and Texas published during the calendar year. The winning author for 2014 will be presented a certificate and $1,000 at the Association's annual meeting in March 2015. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and three (3) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2014 to the TSHA office by October 10, 2014. Books published after October 10 but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 15.

Liz Carpenter Award
Texas State Historical Association
1155 Union Circle #311580
Denton, TX 76203-5017

The Liz Carpenter Award was established in 1992 by Ellen Clarke Temple to encourage publication of scholarly research on the history of women in Texas. The award honors Liz Carpenter, a fifth-generation Texan, for her commitment to the pursuit of the history of women in Texas and for a lifetime of achievements that qualify her as a maker of that history.

Past Recipients

2014 Bruce A. Glasrud
2014 Merline Pitre
2012 Mary L. Scheer, ed. Women and the Texas Revolution
2011 No Award
2010 Judith N. McArthur & Harold L. Smith Texas Through Women's Eyes: The Twentieth Century Experience
2009 Light T. Cummins Emily Austin of Texas 1795-1851
2008 Bruce Glasrud and Merline Pitre, eds. Black Women in Texas History
2006 Sara R. Massey, ed. Texas Women on the Cattle Trails
2003 Judith N. McArthur and Harold L. Smith Minnie Fisher Cunningham: A Suffragist's Life in Politics
2000 Ruthe Winegarten and Nancy Baker Jones Capitol Women: Texas Female Legislators, 1923-1999
1997 Raye Virginia Allen Gordon Conway: Fashioning a New Woman
1994 Sue Tolleson-Rhinehart and Jeanie R. Stanley Claytie and The Lady: Ann Richards, Gender, and Politics in Texas