Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize for Best Book on Texas History

Award Amount: $2,000

The Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize for Best Book on Texas History

The Tullis Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the best book on Texas published during the calendar year. The winning author will be receive a certificate and $2,000 at the Association's Annual Meeting. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and four (4) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2022 to the TSHA office by November 15, 2022. Books published after October 1, but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 1.

All book award submissions must include an individual nomination form in the container transmitting the book in question; TSHA is not responsible for books that arrive without nomination forms.

Tullis Memorial Prize
Texas State Historical Association
PO Box 5428
Austin, TX 78763

The Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize was established in 1967 by her children, John L. Tullis and Mrs. W. D. (Jean Tullis) White Sr. The prize honors Mrs. Tullis for all that she accomplished on behalf of history while teaching at the University of Texas at Austin for thirty-five years and during her forty-year tenure as treasurer and corresponding Secretary of the Texas State Historical Association.

Apply Now