Kate Broocks Bates Award for Historical Research

Award Amount: $4,000

The Kate Broocks Bates Award For Historical Research

The Bates Award is given annually for a significant piece of historical research dealing with any phase of Texas history prior to 1900. More recent history may be included if it is relevant, although preference will be given to subjects dating from the period of the Republic or from the pre-Republic years. Submissions must be of book length and must have been published within the two previous calendar years of the award. The winning author will receive a certificate and $4,000 at the Association's annual meeting. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and four (4) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2021 or 2022 to the TSHA office by November 1, 2022. Books published after October 1, but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 1.

All book award submissions must include an individual nomination form in the container transmitting the book in question; TSHA is not responsible for books that arrive without nomination forms.

Kate Broocks Bates Award
Texas State Historical Association
PO Box 5428
Austin, TX 78763

The Kate Broocks Bates Award was established in 1976 in the name of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas by her children, Kate Harding Bates Parker and C. Elisabeth Bates Nisbet. The award honors Mrs. Bates, a dedicated member of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas who was committed to the study of Texas history.

Apply Now