Liz Carpenter Award for Best Book on the History of Women

Award Amount: $1,000

The Liz Carpenter Award For Best Book on the History of Women

The Liz Carpenter Award is given annually for the best scholarly book on the history of women and Texas published during the calendar year. A surplus of funds in the award endowment fund allows, at the discretion of the committee, a maximum of two $2,000 prizes to be given this year. Winning authors will receive a certificate and $2,000 at the Association's annual meeting. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and four (4) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2022 to the TSHA office by November 15, 2022. Books published after October 1, but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 1.

All book award submissions must include an individual nomination form in the container transmitting the book in question; TSHA is not responsible for books that arrive without nomination forms.

Liz Carpenter Award
Texas State Historical Association
PO Box 5428
Austin, TX 78763

The Liz Carpenter Award was established in 1992 by Ellen Clarke Temple to encourage publication of scholarly research on the history of women in Texas. The award honors Liz Carpenter, a fifth-generation Texan, for her commitment to the pursuit of the history of women in Texas and for a lifetime of achievements that qualify her as a maker of that history.

Apply Now