Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan Leadership in Education Award

The Mary Jon and J.P. Bryan Leadership in Education Awards are given annually to recognize two outstanding history educators, one each at the K-12 and college levels.

The winning educators for 2019 will be presented with a certificate and a check for $5,000 at the Association's Annual Meeting in February 2020 in Austin, Texas.

Any person may nominate any full-time educator presently teaching history in a Texas school or college. Letters of nomination sent to the award committee must be postmarked on or before December 08, 2019.

  • Nomination letter for the nominee (from the teacher or other)
  • Nominee's resume or vita, as well as other letters of recommendation
  • Cannot exceed seven pages
  • Please submit your nomination and supporting materials to:

    Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan
    Leadership in Education Award
    Texas State Historical Association
    PO Box 5428
    Austin, TX 78763

    Should the committee decide that no entry meets the requirements, they may withhold the award at their discretion.

Mail-in application form: TSHA-Award-Submission-Form.pdf