Ron Tyler Award for Best Illustrated Book on Texas History and Culture

Award Amount: $2,500

photo of 2019 recipient pete gershon awarded by frand de la teja

Ron Tyler Award for Best Illustrated Book on Texas History and Culture

The Ron Tyler Award, funded by the Summerlee Foundation, is given annually for a book dealing with Texas history and using special visual applications such as photography and reproduction of historic paintings. The book should be published in the calendar year for which the award is given and make a contribution to Texas history and culture with the significant use of illustrations. A panel of judges will determine if the full amount should be awarded to either the publisher or the author, or if the amount should be shared between the two. The winning author will receive a certificate and $2,500 at the Association's Annual Meeting. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and four (4) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2022 to the TSHA office by November 15, 2022. Books published after October 1, but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 1.

All book award submissions must include an individual nomination form in the container transmitting the book in question; TSHA is not responsible for books that arrive without nomination forms.

Tyler Book Award Committee
Texas State Historical Association
PO Box 5428
Austin, TX 78763

This award was established in 2006 in tribute to Ron Tyler, who throughout his career as a scholar, publisher, and teacher, has studied the connections between art and history, and who, as director of the TSHA from 1986 to 2004, was a leader in publishing high quality illustrated books devoted to Texas history.

Apply Now