Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon

Caldwell Memorial Awards

The following PDF documents contain information about the current contest and the required registration form:

Contest InformationAcrobat PDF file, requires Acrobat Reader

Registration FormAcrobat PDF file, requires Acrobat Reader

Entry deadline for the 2016 contest is January 22, 2016.


C. M. Caldwell Memorial Awards
For Excellence in History
2015 Recipients

Lower Division:
1st Place - Dirk Johnson, San Jacinto College-South, The Chamizal Settlement & the Dispersion of a People Group
2nd Place - Morgan Capps, Northeast Texas Community College, Political Pa and Mindful Ma Ferguson: 
The Charismatic Commensal Couple of Texas Governorship

3rd Place - Jeffery Hallinan, San Jacinto College-Central, The "Cowboy" of Pasadena, Texas:
The Origins Behind the Pasadena Livestock Show & Rodeo and its Relevance Today

4th Place - Isaac Burris, Northeast Texas Community Colege, The "Varangian" Option:
 Slaves and Intra-White Feuding in Texas before the Civil War

Upper Division:
1st Place - Sam Gaylon, McMurry University, Fifty Shades of Cadet Gray: 
Uniforms and Textiles in the Confederate Trans-Mississippi

2nd Place - Jessica Ceeko, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, The Effect of the Mexican Revolution on San Antonio
3rd Place - Miguel Ramirez, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, Aguilas Aztecas:
 Mexico's Forgotten Contribution to World War II

4th Place - Christian Flanders, McMurry University, Under a Flannel Flag: Uniforms of the Republic of Texas Army

Graduate Division:
1st Place - Charles Grand, The University of Texas at Arlington, The Treaty of Bird's Fort
2nd Place - Nakia Parker, The University of Texas at Austin, "Bold, Bad, Notorious" Hal Geiger: Politics, Violence, and Defiance in Reconstruction Era East Texas

Chapter Project:
Lamar University