Buchanan County

By: Seymour V. Connor

Type: General Entry

Published: 1952

Updated: November 1, 1994

Buchanan County, established in 1858, was named for President James Buchanan. In 1861 the name was changed to Stephens County.

Hans Peter Nielsen Gammel, comp., Laws of Texas, 1822–1897 (10 vols., Austin: Gammel, 1898).
  • Counties

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Seymour V. Connor, “Buchanan County,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed May 18, 2022, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/buchanan-county.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

November 1, 1994