Commissioners of Deeds

By: Dick Smith

Type: General Entry

Published: 1952

Updated: August 4, 2020

The appointment by the governor of one or more commissioners of deeds in each state, territory, and foreign country was authorized by the legislature in 1846 to replace the consuls of the Republic of Texas. These commissioners served two-year terms and were to have the same authority as notaries public in Texas. The last commissioner of deeds served under Preston Smith in 1971.

Seymour V. Connor, "A Preliminary Guide to the Archives of Texas," Southwestern Historical Quarterly 59 (January 1956).

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Dick Smith, “Commissioners of Deeds,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed June 28, 2022,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

August 4, 2020