Copper Canyon, TX

By: Laurie E. Jasinski

Type: General Entry

Published: January 3, 2005

Font size: A / A reset

Copper Canyon is a residential community located west of Interstate 35E about eight miles south of Denton in south central Denton County. The community incorporated on April 23, 1973, and adopted a mayor/council form of government. Robert B. Woodin served as the first mayor, and the council consisted of the town's founders, including Bill Ferris, Arthur Huston, and Betty Harmon. By 1979 the Copper Canyon town hall was completed. The community reported a population of 465 in 1980 and 978 in 1990. Copper Canyon has no commercial development and receives services such as police and fire protection from other area cities. In 2000 the population was 1,216.

Shirley B. Faile, "A Short History of the Town of Copper Canyon, Texas," The Town of Copper Canyon website (, accessed November 16, 2004.


  • Communities

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Laurie E. Jasinski, “Copper Canyon, TX,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed September 18, 2021,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

January 3, 2005