The Handbook of Texas is free-to-use thanks to the support of readers like you. Support the Handbook today.

Font size: A / A reset

Support Texas History Now

Join TSHA to support quality Texas history programs and receive exclusive benefits.

Become a TSHA Member Today »

Corpus Christi, San Diego and Rio Grande Narrow Gauge Railroad

Nancy Young General Entry

The Corpus Christi, San Diego and Rio Grande Narrow Gauge Railroad Company was chartered on March 18, 1875, to connect Eagle Pass and Laredo with Corpus Christi by way of San Diego, Texas. As in many cases, the state land grant did not help the financing of the railroad because the land was worth little. The people responsible for the development of the railroad were Uriah Lott, Perry Doddridge, David Hirsch, J. B. Mitchell, George F. Evans, N. Gossett, William I. Rogers, and Herman Chamberlain, all of Corpus Christi; M. M. Levy and Henry Goldsmidt, both of Laredo; Leon Blum of Galveston; and C. W. Hurley, F. W. Schaffer, and Frank David, all of San Diego. On January 1, 1878, the railroad opened twenty-five miles of track between Corpus Christi and Banquete. In 1879 the line was extended twenty-seven miles from Banquete to San Diego. Richard King and Mifflin Kenedy ensured the continuation of the project, which was renamed Texas Mexican Railway Company on June 25, 1881.

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Nancy Young, “Corpus Christi, San Diego and Rio Grande Narrow Gauge Railroad,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed May 08, 2021,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

December 1, 1994
August 10, 2020