Double Mountain Fork of the Brazos River

Type: General Entry

Published: 1952

Updated: May 27, 2020

The main stream of the Double Mountain Fork of the Brazos River rises in the break in the Caprock of the Llano Estacado known as Double Mountain Canyon in eastern Lynn County (at 33°05' N, 101°39' W) and runs east across southern Garza County, southern Kent County, northwestern Fisher County, southern Stonewall County, and western Haskell County, before turning back westward into eastern Stonewall County. It extends 165 miles to its mouth, on the Salt Fork of the Brazos near Old Glory oilfield, northeast of Aspermont (at 33°16' N, 100°01' W). At this confluence the Brazos River proper is formed. The North Fork of the Double Mountain Fork rises in Lubbock, central Lubbock County (at 33°36' N, 101°50' W), and runs roughly seventy-five miles through Crosby and Garza counties to its mouth, on the Double Mountain Fork of the Brazos River, southwest of Clairemont in western Kent County (at 33°06' N, 101°00' W). The Double Mountain Fork and its North Fork have been dammed to form Bell Springs Lake, Lake Ransom Canyon, Benson Lake, Blake Lake, Stewart Lake, and Clear Water Lake. The canyon is also known as Mooar's Draw, after John Wesley and Josiah Wright Mooar, early buffalo hunters in the area.

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Anonymous, “Double Mountain Fork of the Brazos River,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed August 11, 2022,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

May 27, 2020