Dye, TX

By: David Minor

Type: General Entry

Published: 1952

Updated: December 1, 1994

Dye, also known as Dye Mound, is a farming community ten miles southeast of Montague on a spur off Farm Road 3206 in southeastern Montague County. Its settlement occurred in 1880, and the community developed around J. D. Bybee's general store. A post office branch operated at Dye from 1884 to 1905. Throughout its history Dye has functioned as a community center for area farmers. Its recorded population has never exceeded sixty, and from the late 1940s through the 1990s no population estimates were available. In 1961 three dwellings and a church were in the vicinity. The 1983 county highway map showed a cemetery there. In 2000 the population was 200.

  • Communities

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

David Minor, “Dye, TX,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed August 10, 2022, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/dye-tx.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

December 1, 1994

Currently Exists
Place Type
Town Fields
  • Has post office: No
  • Is Incorporated: No
Belongs to
  • Montague County
Associated Names


  • Latitude: 33.62066190°
  • Longitude: -97.61252760°
Population Counts
People Year
30 2009