The Handbook of Texas is free-to-use thanks to the support of readers like you. Support the Handbook today.

Font size: A / A reset

Support Texas History Now

Join TSHA to support quality Texas history programs and receive exclusive benefits.

Become a TSHA Member Today »

Jones, Percy (1885–1951)

Rupert N. Richardson Biography Entry

Percy Jones, railroad executive and oilman, son of Thomas Charles and Jane Elizabeth Jones, was born at Fence Houses, Durham County, England, on January 23, 1885, and was educated at Barnard Castle School. In 1903 he came to America and joined his uncle, Morgan Jones, in railroad building and operation. He was an engineer in the construction of the Abilene and Northern and the Abilene and Southern railroads, was president of the Abilene and Southern for a period beginning in 1926, and was later president of the Paris and Mount Pleasant Railroad Company. He was also president of the Western Compress and Storage Company. Oil discoveries on land Jones had bought in Kent and Howard counties brought him a substantial fortune, which he augmented by developments through his own oil company. He was a member of the Episcopal Church and a philanthropist, who made most of his benefactions anonymously. Jones married Ruth Legett (see JONES, RUTH L.), daughter of Judge Kirvin K. Legett, on December 25, 1915. They had a son and two daughters. Jones died in Abilene on February 11, 1951.

Abilene Reporter-News, February 12, 1951. Cattleman, March 1951. Vernon Gladden Spence, Colonel Morgan Jones (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1971).


  • Oil and Gas Industry
  • Oil Entrepreneurs and Wildcatters
  • Peoples
  • English
  • Business

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Rupert N. Richardson, “Jones, Percy,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed June 14, 2021,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

September 1, 1995