The Handbook of Texas is free-to-use thanks to the support of readers like you. Support the Handbook today.

Font size: A / A reset

Support Texas History Now

Join TSHA to support quality Texas history programs and receive exclusive benefits.

Become a TSHA Member Today »

La Grange Female Institute

General Entry

La Grange Female Institute, in La Grange, Fayette County, was planned in the summer of 1845 and opened on September 15, 1845, by Mrs. Virginia S. Mayo. Opening sessions were announced in January and April 1846. The fourteen incorporators listed in the charter of May 11, 1846, included James S. Mayfield, John G. Chalmers, and R. E. B. Baylor. The nondenominational school was to occupy a two-story wooden structure; tuition was set at $2.50 monthly. The school probably closed before 1850, when Marcus A. Montrose, formerly of La Grange Female Institute, took charge of La Grange Collegiate Institute.

William Franklin Ledlow, History of Protestant Education in Texas (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Texas, 1926). Johanna Caroline Walling, Early Education in Fayette County (M.A. thesis, University of Texas, 1941).


  • Education
  • Defunct Elementary and Secondary Schools
  • Women

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Anonymous, “La Grange Female Institute,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed March 04, 2021,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

This entry belongs to the following Handbook Special Projects: