The Handbook of Texas is free-to-use thanks to the support of readers like you. Support the Handbook today.

Font size: A / A reset

Support Texas History Now

Join TSHA to support quality Texas history programs and receive exclusive benefits.

Become a TSHA Member Today »

La Salle, TX (La Salle County)

John Leffler General Entry

La Salle was just east of Cotulla in western La Salle County. The town was established in 1881 by Jesse Laxton, the postmaster of Iuka. After learning that the International and Great Northern Railroad planned to extend its tracks into La Salle County, Laxton surveyed and laid out his town in the railroad's path; knowing that an 1858 state law specified that a county seat should bear the same name as its county, Laxton named his town La Salle. La Salle had a post office from 1881 to 1883. In 1882 it was designated the temporary county seat, and that year county records were transferred there. The next year a jail was constructed on the site, joining the temporary courthouse that had already been built. That same year, in a special county election, voters chose to move the county seat to Cotulla, which was just across the railroad tracks; La Salle was eventually absorbed into the new county seat.

Stanley D. Casto, Settlement of the Cibolo-Nueces Strip: A Partial History of La Salle County (Hillsboro, Texas: Hill Junior College Press, 1969). Annette Martin Ludeman, La Salle: La Salle County (Quanah, Texas: Nortex, 1975).


  • Communities

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

John Leffler, “La Salle, TX (La Salle County),” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed May 13, 2021,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

February 1, 1995