The Handbook of Texas is free-to-use thanks to the support of readers like you. Support the Handbook today.

Font size: A / A reset

Support Texas History Now

Join TSHA to support quality Texas history programs and receive exclusive benefits.

Become a TSHA Member Today »

Mount Livermore

General Entry

Mount Livermore, also known as Baldy Peak, is in the Davis Mountains eighteen miles northwest of Fort Davis in south central Jeff Davis County (at 30°38' N, 104°10' W). It rises to an elevation of 8,378 feet above sea level, some 2,400 feet above the Rockpile, on State Highway 166 five miles to the northwest. Several springs are located on the flanks of Mount Livermore, where shallow, stony soils support aspen, limber and ponderosa pine, Gambel, Emory, and net-leaf oak, and wild cherry. Local faunal species rare and endangered in Texas include the band-tailed pigeon, Steller's jay, Clark's nutcracker, the silver-haired bat, and the short-horned lizard.

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Anonymous, “Mount Livermore,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed May 10, 2021,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

March 1, 1995