Poetry Society of Texas

By: Sonja Fojtik

Type: General Entry

Published: 1976

Updated: May 1, 1995

The Poetry Society of Texas, organized in 1921, grew out of a movement initiated by Therese Kayser Lindsey, a Tyler poet. After obtaining information from the state poetry society of Charleston, South Carolina, she called a meeting of interested persons in Dallas, where plans were made for the organization of a statewide society. Mrs. Lindsey was chosen corresponding secretary; the other charter members were Hilton Ross Greer, president; Karle Wilson Baker, vice-president; Clyde Walton Hill, treasurer; Jewell Wurtzbaugh, recording secretary; and Whitney Maxwell Montgomery and Louella Styles Vincent, directors. In 1922 the society published its first yearbook, received its charter under state law, and began to function actively. Its aim was to enlist public interest in poetry. Membership was open to anyone in sympathy with the society's general aims. In 1994 the society had 600 members in twenty-five chapters across the state; headquarters were in Dallas. Active members must be native Texans, residents of Texas, or former residents of Texas who have been active in the society in the past; associate memberships have no geographical qualifications. Meetings are held the second Saturday evening of each month, except for June and November. The annual awards dinner, held in November, distributes ninety-five awards with prizes ranging from $25 to $350. In June the society presents its Student Awards Festival. Meetings include lectures by distinguished speakers and poetry readings. The society sponsored an annual book-publication contest from 1925 to 1933. It holds annual and monthly contests with awards for individual poems. It has a permanent collection in the Dallas Public Library comprising several hundred books and pamphlets by Texas poets. Since 1922 the society has annually published a yearbook containing general information, a summary of the year's activities, and the monthly prize-winning poems of members. It also publishes a monthly news bulletin for members. Budd Powell Mahan was president of the society in 1994.

Poetry Society of Texas, A Book of the Year (Dallas, 1939, 1962, 1972).
  • Writers, Authors, Publications, and Literature
  • Literature
  • Clubs, Movements, and Associations
  • North Texas
  • Dallas/Fort Worth Region
  • Dallas

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Sonja Fojtik, “Poetry Society of Texas,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed July 02, 2022, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/poetry-society-of-texas.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

May 1, 1995

This entry belongs to the following Handbook Special Projects: