Texas A&M University System

Type: General Entry

Updated: August 5, 2020

The Texas Agricultural and Mechanical College System was established in 1948. Gibb Gilchrist served as chancellor and oversaw all branch colleges and services, which included the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas (now Texas A&M University), Arlington State College (now the University of Texas at Arlington), Prairie View Agricultural and Mechanical College (now Prairie View A&M University), John Tarleton College (now Tarleton State University), the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, the Texas Agricultural Extension Service, the Texas Engineering Experiment Station, the Texas Engineering Extension Service, the Texas Transportation Institute, and the Texas Forest Service. The Texas Maritime Academy (now part of Texas A&M University at Galveston) joined the A&M system in 1962. By 1968 control of the system had passed to the office of the president, and the name was changed to the Texas A&M University System. Arlington State College was transferred to the University of Texas System in 1965. From 1965 until 1969 the James Connally Technical Institute was part of the A&M system, but it was separated when it became part of the Texas State Technical Institute (see TEXAS STATE TECHNICAL COLLEGE-WACO). In 1993 the A&M system added Texas A&M International University (formerly Laredo State University), Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi (formerly Corpus Christi State University), Texas A&M University at Kingsville (formerly Texas A&I University), and West Texas A&M University (formerly West Texas State University). See also PERMANENT UNIVERSITY FUND.

Henry C. Dethloff, A Pictorial History of Texas A&M University, 1876–1976 (College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 1975).

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Anonymous, “Texas A&M University System,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed August 14, 2022, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/texas-a-m-university-system.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

August 5, 2020