Texas Centennial of Statehood

Type: General Entry

Published: 1952

Updated: May 14, 2019

The Texas Centennial of Statehood, celebrated from the latter part of 1945 through 1946, observed the one hundredth anniversary of Texas's annexation to the United States, dating from the official annexation day on December 29, 1845, to the inauguration of state government on February 19, 1846. In 1941 the Forty-seventh Texas Legislature provided for a Centennial of Statehood Commission headed by Karl Hoblitzelle, chairman, A. Garland Adair, commissioner, and Jesse H. Jones, chairman of federal participation. With the outbreak of World War II, the commission decided that the observance should take the form of a constructive program aimed at improvement of Texas's economic and social conditions. Observances were held by patriotic groups, historical associations, and the public schools; attention to the celebration was given in the press and on the radio. Federal participation included the issuance of a three-cent commemorative stamp and an exhibition of Texana in the Library of Congress.

A Century of Texas Governors (Austin: Texas Centennial of Statehood Commission, 1943). Texas Almanac, 1945.

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Anonymous, “Texas Centennial of Statehood,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed June 30, 2022, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/texas-centennial-of-statehood.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

May 14, 2019