Texas Geographic Society

By: Edwin J. Foscue

Type: General Entry

Published: 1976

Updated: August 1, 1995

The Texas Geographic Society was organized in Dallas on May 24, 1933, with an initial membership of 300. Purposing to interpret geography in popular terms, the society arranged for monthly lectures and in 1937 began publication of the Texas Geographic Magazine. Among the society's presidents were Robert T. Hill, Victor H. Schoffelmayer, James M. Martin, Edwin J. Foscue, W. E. Wrather, and Raymond W. Fry. The society disbanded in 1950 due to lack of financial support. The last issue of the Texas Geographic Magazine was published in 1948.


  • Dallas/Fort Worth Region
  • Dallas
  • North Texas

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Edwin J. Foscue, “Texas Geographic Society,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed October 22, 2021, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/texas-geographic-society.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

August 1, 1995

This entry belongs to the following Handbook Special Projects: