Texas State Technical College-Sweetwater

By: Nancy Young

Type: General Entry

The Texas State Technical College-Sweetwater opened for classes in September 1970 as a division of the Texas State Technical Institute in Waco. In 1971 the legislature authorized a Texas State Technical Institute in Nolan County, and the Sweetwater campus gained autonomy. The Rolling Plains Campus, Sweetwater, had an enrollment of 419 in 1974. In 1991 the school became the Texas State Technical College-Sweetwater. The school offered eighteen programs of study on its sixty-one-acre campus between Sweetwater and Roscoe next to the Sweetwater Municipal Airport. There were twelve instructional buildings. An Abilene Extension Campus opened in 1985, and a Breckenridge Extension Campus opened for classes in 1990. The Sweetwater campus library held 17,000 volumes. In 1991 the Abilene center was housed in a new facility east of town. The Breckenridge Rural Technology Center was in a remodeled building in town. The school held accreditations and memberships with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers. It offered technical and skill development study areas and general education pretechnical studies. A faculty of seventy-two served a student population of 748. Clay G. Johnson was president.

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Nancy Young, “Texas State Technical College-Sweetwater,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed June 28, 2022, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/texas-state-technical-college-sweetwater.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.