The Handbook of Texas is free-to-use thanks to the support of readers like you. Support the Handbook today.

Font size: A / A reset

Support Texas History Now

Join TSHA to support quality Texas history programs and receive exclusive benefits.

Become a TSHA Member Today »

University of Eastern Texas

Louise Kelly General Entry

In 1847 Oran M. Roberts succeeded in uniting two former colleges, the University of San Augustine and Wesleyan College, both in San Augustine, under an independent board to form the University of Eastern Texas. Religious control and denominational instruction were prohibited. The University of Eastern Texas took over the buildings of the two previous institutions, which included two three-story structures. The school soon failed, but the community was united on a college idea, and in 1851 the Masonic Institute of San Augustine was established.

Frederick Eby, The Development of Education in Texas (New York: Macmillan, 1925).


  • Education
  • Defunct Colleges and Universities

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Louise Kelly, “University of Eastern Texas,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed October 28, 2020,

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.