Waco County

By: Seymour V. Connor

Type: General Entry

Published: 1952

Updated: October 1, 1995

Waco County, as established for judicial and other purposes on January 29, 1842, embraced the area of present Falls County. Viesca was named the county seat. Waco County was abolished by a Texas Supreme court decision, Stockton v. Montgomery (1842), which made all judicial counties unconstitutional.

James Wilmer Dallam, A Digest of the Laws of Texas (Baltimore: Toy, 1845). Hans Peter Nielsen Gammel, comp., Laws of Texas, 1822–1897 (10 vols., Austin: Gammel, 1898).


  • Counties

The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this entry.

Seymour V. Connor, “Waco County,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed October 22, 2021, https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/waco-county.

Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

October 1, 1995