Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


CORPUS CHRISTI, SAN DIEGO AND RIO GRANDE NARROW GAUGE RAILROAD. The Corpus Christi, San Diego and Rio Grande Narrow Gauge Railroad Company was chartered on March 18, 1875, to connect Eagle Pass and Laredo with Corpus Christi by way of San Diego, Texas. As in many cases, the state land grant did not help the financing of the railroad because the land was worth little. The people responsible for the development of the railroad were Uriah Lott, Perry Doddridge,qqv David Hirsch, J. B. Mitchell, George F. Evans, N. Gossett, William I. Rogers, and Herman Chamberlain, all of Corpus Christi; M. M. Levy and Henry Goldsmidt, both of Laredo; Leon Blum of Galveston; and C. W. Hurley, F. W. Schaffer, and Frank David, all of San Diego. On January 1, 1878, the railroad opened twenty-five miles of track between Corpus Christi and Banquete. In 1879 the line was extended twenty-seven miles from Banquete to San Diego. Richard King and Mifflin Kenedyqqv ensured the continuation of the project, which was renamed Texas Mexican Railway Company on June 25, 1881.

Nancy Beck Young


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Nancy Beck Young, "CORPUS CHRISTI, SAN DIEGO AND RIO GRANDE NARROW GAUGE RAILROAD," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed October 05, 2015. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.