sidebar menu icon


GAGE, DAVID (1796–1854). David Gage, early settler and legislator, was born in Kentucky in 1796. He moved to Texas from Alabama in 1839 and, on May 21, purchased a fourth of the Leonard Williams league; he settled in the Williams Settlement in southern Rusk County, near Mount Enterprise. A few months later he organized and was made captain of a company of minutemen for protection against the Indians. He served with the company during 1840 and 1841. Gage was elected representative to the Eighth and Ninth congresses of the republic, December 4, 1843, to June 28, 1845, and in 1845 was elected senator for the Fourth District and delegate to the Convention of 1845. After annexation he served three terms in the Texas legislature. He died at his home near Mount Enterprise in 1854.

John S. Ford, Memoirs (MS, John Salmon Ford Papers, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin). Texas House of Representatives, Biographical Directory of the Texan Conventions and Congresses, 1832–1845 (Austin: Book Exchange, 1941). Texas Legislative Council, Members of the Texas Legislature, 1846–1980 (Austin, 1980?).
Robert Bruce Blake

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Robert Bruce Blake, "Gage, David," accessed July 27, 2017,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.