Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


LATIMER COUNTY. Latimer County, established by a declaration of the Constitutional Convention of 1868–69 and probably named for Albert Hamilton Latimer, included the area of present Franklin County. Latimer County was never organized or legalized by the Texas legislature.


Hans Peter Nielsen Gammel, comp., Laws of Texas, 1822–1897 (10 vols., Austin: Gammel, 1898).

Seymour V. Connor


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Seymour V. Connor, "LATIMER COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed November 29, 2015. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Texas AlmanacFor more information about towns and counties including physical features, statistics, weather, maps and much more, visit the Town Database on!