Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN COLLEGE. Evangelical Lutheran College was established in 1870 at Rutersville, Fayette County, where buildings were bought for $600 and Rev. H. Mertz became supervisor and instructor. The institution met with small success and in 1878 was forced to close. Another Evangelical Lutheran College was a predecessor of Texas Lutheran Collegeqv.


Max Heinrich, comp., History of the First Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Texas (Waverly, Iowa: Wartburg, 1928).


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

"EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN COLLEGE," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed November 30, 2015. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.