Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


COMMISSION ON SERVICES TO CHILDREN AND YOUTH. The Commission on Services to Children and Youth was established by the Sixty-second Texas Legislature in 1971 to be composed of twenty-eight members, eighteen of whom were appointed by the governor with the concurrence of the Senate for overlapping terms of six years; the remaining were permanent ex officio members who were heads of various Texas state commissions and departments. The eighteen appointed members were to be widely representative of the racial, ethnic, and economic makeup of the state's population, and six of them were required to be younger than twenty-one years of age at the time of appointment. The commission was to assist in the coordination of services to state agencies and programs as they related to children and youth. It periodically reported its findings to the legislature in matters relevant to the protection, growth, and development of children, and recommended modification in state programs or proposed new ones. It encouraged public and private organizations in the state to participate in youth development programs, and it performed duties assigned to it by the governor or legislature that pertained to the White House conferences on children and youth. The commission was abolished on recommendation of the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission on September 1, 1985.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

"COMMISSION ON SERVICES TO CHILDREN AND YOUTH," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed November 25, 2015. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.