Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT. The State Commission on Judicial Conduct was established in 1965 as the State Judicial Qualifications Commission. It was composed of nine members: two justices of courts of civil appeals and two district judges selected by the Supreme Court (see JUDICIALSYSTEM), two members of the State Bar of Texas chosen by the board of directors of the State Bar, and three members appointed by the governor. The concurrence of the Texas Senate was required for all appointments. The duty of the commission was to consider complaints about the disability or misconduct of judges and to make recommendations to the Supreme Court concerning the removal of judges. In 1970 the commission's jurisdiction was extended to cover all judicial officers of the state, from Supreme Court justices to justices of the peace and municipal judges. After a hearing, if the commission found willful or persistent misconduct on the part of a judge, it could choose to reprimand privately, censure publicly, or recommend the removal or retirement of a judge. In 1977 the commission was renamed State Commission on Judicial Conduct, and its membership was increased to eleven: five appointed by the Supreme Court, two by the state bar, and four by the governor.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

"STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed October 07, 2015. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.