Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon
free alamo ebook


COUNTY SCHOOL TRUSTEES. The office of county school trustee was established in 1911. A board was made up of one trustee from each of the four commissioners' precincts and a chairman from the county at large. All were elected for two years. The main duties of the trustees were to divide the county into school districts, consolidate districts, establish new districts, hear appeals from the county superintendent, and apportion the common school fund among the districts according to scholastic population. In 1978 the legislature abolished state funding for county school trustees, and most counties chose not to continue the offices with local funds.

Dick Smith


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Dick Smith, "COUNTY SCHOOL TRUSTEES," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed July 01, 2015. Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.