Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


ARMSTRONG CREEK (Erath County). Armstrong Creek rises in western Erath County in three branches. The East Fork rises three miles northwest of Mount Zion (at 32°21' N, 98°26' W), and the West Fork rises three miles northeast of School Hill Church (at 32°21' N, 98°29' W). The two branches run southward roughly parallel for eight miles before merging (at 32°15' N, 98°27' W) to form Armstrong Creek two miles east of Lowell. The third branch, the Dry Fork, begins two miles northwest of Lowell (at 32°17' N, 98°29' W) and runs southeast for 4½ miles to its mouth on Armstrong Creek, 2½ miles south of the confluence of the East and West forks (at 32°13' N, 98°27' W). The consolidated stream runs southwest for twelve miles to its mouth on Proctor Reservoir, three miles east of DeLeon (at 32°05' N, 98°30' W). Upstream, the terrain features steep slopes; downstream, the land is generally flat and locally indented. The land surface of shallow sandy soil supports juniper, scattered oaks, and grasses.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

"ARMSTRONG CREEK (ERATH COUNTY)," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed November 25, 2015. Uploaded on June 9, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.