Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


TWELVEMILE CREEK (DeWitt County). Twelvemile Creek, also known as Cottonwood Creek and Twelve-mile Coleto Creek, rises four miles east of Yorktown near the Yorktown oilfield in central DeWitt County (at 29°00' N, 97°26' W) and flows southeast for twenty-two miles to its confluence with Fifteenmile Creek to form Fifteenmile Coleto Creek on the Victoria-Goliad county line (at 28°52' N, 97°14' W). Twelvemile Creek is formed by the juncture of Cottonwood Creek and Woods Creek. It was named, along with the other head streams of Coleto Creek, in 1850, when Clinton was made the county seat of DeWitt County; the name signifies the distance from the courthouse door. After the county seat was moved from Clinton, this stream came to be known also as Cottonwood Creek, but should not be confused with the stream of that name which remains one of its major sources. Twelvemile Creek flows through flat terrain with local shallow depressions where water-tolerant hardwoods, conifers, and grasses cover clay and sandy loam soils.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

"TWELVEMILE CREEK (DEWITT COUNTY)," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed July 29, 2015. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.