Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


LITTLE WICHITA RIVER. The Little Wichita River rises at the confluence of its North, Middle, and South forks, four miles north of Archer City in central Archer County (at 33°39' N, 98°38' W). The North Fork rises in Baylor County four miles northeast of Seymour (at 33°37' N, 99°10' W), flows east for thirty-seven miles, and is dammed in its middle reaches to form Lake Kickapoo. The Middle Fork rises in southwest Archer County six miles northeast of Megargel (at 33°31' N, 98°51' W) and runs sixteen miles northeast. The South Fork rises four miles east of Megargel in southwest Archer County (at 33°26' N, 98 50°' W) and flows twenty miles northeast. The consolidated river flows northeast, then southeast in its extreme lower reaches, for a total of sixty-two miles, to its mouth on the Red River, 2½ miles west of Terral, Oklahoma, in extreme northeastern Clay County (at 33°54' N, 97°59' W). Its course carries it into Lake Arrowhead in western Clay County, which it exits near the Wichita Falls Dam on the lake's northern shore. Bluff Creek, Onion Creek, Little Post Oak Creek, Deer Creek, and Turkey Creek are tributaries. The river traverses generally flat terrain with local shallow depressions, surfaced by clay and sandy loam that supports water-tolerant hardwoods, conifers, and grasses. Historically, the area has served as crop and range land, although recently some urban development has occurred.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

"LITTLE WICHITA RIVER," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed November 27, 2015. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.