Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


AUSTIN MUSIC MEMORIAL. The Austin Music Memorial commemorates individuals who have played significant roles in the development of music and in the Austin musical community. On July 26, 2007, the Austin city council approved the memorial, which is a program of the City of Austin Economic Growth and Redevelopment Services Office. Ten inaugural inductees in 2008 included a cross section of musicians, bandleaders, and musicologists that represented a broad spectrum of genres and the “rich cultural legacy, history, and diversity” of Austin. The list included Carl Besserer, Kenny Dorham, Ignacio “Nash” Hernández, Américo Paredes, Doug Sahm, and Roosevelt “Grey Ghost” Williams.

The Austin Music Memorial nominates a group of ten individuals each year. Induction is based on three eligibility requirements: the nominee must be deceased for three years prior to the induction year, must have been either a native of or worked and lived in and around Austin, and must have made an important contribution to Austin music.

Each honoree is memorialized with a personalized engraved disc that is placed on the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long Center for the Performing Arts “City Terrace,” that overlooks Lady Bird Lake. On March 30, 2008, the inaugural class was honored as part of the grand opening of the Long Center. Subsequent inductees have included T. D. Bell, Lonnie Guerrero, Gene Ramey, C. B. Stubblefield, Clifford Antone, Townes Van Zandt, Kenneth Threadgill, and Stevie Ray Vaughan.


Austin Music Memorial (, accessed May 17, 2011. “Austin Music Memorial,” Texas Music Office (, accessed May 17, 2011.

Laurie E. Jasinski
Laurie E. Jasinski


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Laurie E. Jasinski, "AUSTIN MUSIC MEMORIAL," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed September 03, 2015. Uploaded on August 24, 2014. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.